Remember Committee

The centennial history committee is dedicated to helping the present Catholic family and larger community become more aware of the contributions of the Catholic Church to the spiritual life in that part of south Texas that became the Diocese of Corpus Christi in March 1912.  

Over the next 18 months we hope to celebrate the sacrifices and faith of the clergy, religious and laity who with the gift of God’s grace have had a vital part in influencing the positive development of our community. We will do this through:

  • a series of history articles;
  • profiles of pathfinders;
  • bulletin inserts;
  • radio spots; and
  • this Web site. 
It is our hope that sharing this story of our Catholic family will be a source of pride and joy as we celebrate the centennial of the Diocese of Corpus Christi, and that these stories of faith will inspire our present faith community.            

Members of Remember Committee
Monsignor Michael Howell, Chair
Pastor, St. Thomas More Parish
Alfredo Cardenas, Editor
South Texas Catholic
Diocese of Corpus Christi
Geraldine D. McGloin
Monsignor Michael Heras
Pastor, Our Lady of Perpetual Help
Marty Wind, General Manager
Diocesan Telecommunications and KLUX
Dr. Barbara Welder, Chair
Bee County Historical Commission
Monsignor Richard Shirley, Retired
Cyrus Richards, Archivist
Diocese of Corpus Christi
Cecilia Gutierrez Venable, Archivist
Texas A&M CC University Library
Rene Gonzalez, Superintendent of Catholic Schools
Diocese of Corpus Christi
SIsters Martha Ann Snapka, Martha O’Gara, Lou Ella Hickman and Brenda Thompson
Sisters of the Incarnate Word of the Blessed Sacrament

Search Site